Serpent Lord (GR) is a new heavy metal band from Thessaloniki, Greece and they were formed on January 2016.

On 13th of May 2017, at their show with Omen, the band released their first demo, which includes the songs “Sacrilegium” and “Blood Offering”. The band has sold 150 copies of the demo and gained very good reviews from webzines and magazines around the world.

A few months later, the band hit the studio so as to records its debut album, called “Towards the Damned”. The recordings were done at Infected Studios (summer 2017-winter 2018) with George Infected (Mass Infection) as a producer. George managed to give a late eighties –early nineties sound to the band, being influenced from Iced Earth’s and Death’s sound, but with a modern aspect.

“Towards the Damned” was released on September 14th 2018 via Alcyone with the reviews being more than great. It includes powerful 10 songs, from which one is instrumental, one is an atmospheric ballad and another one is written in Phrygian language. The album was selected as “Album of the Month” on the Greek Metal Hammer, while it gained great reviews from Powerplay Magazine, Fireworks, Rock Overdose,, Rock Hard Greece, Ultraje, etc.

The band pays a lot of attention to their image and their live shows. On their shows they use two big banners with seals from Archangels, a table with skulls, candles, books about magic and a Testament and they put candles all around the stage. “For us, it’s not just a live show, it is a ritual. The songs talk about rituals, about magic and religions, about demons, so we try to create the appropriate atmosphere on our shows”, they state.

On May 14 2018, the band released its first video clip for the new song “The Lesser Key”. The video clip is directed by Bob Katsionis (guitars/keyboards at Firewind, Outloud). A couple of months after the album’s release, on December 22nd, the band released its second video clip for the song “Seed of Divine”, once again directed by Bob Katsionis.

In August, the band decided to add the “(GR)” on the name, so as not to be confused with other bands with the same name.

Marios Arikas – Vocals
Giorgos Terzitanos – Lead Guitar/Back Vocals
Lazaros Bouroutzoglou – Rhythm Guitar
Konstantinos Sotirelis – Bass/ Back Vocals
Vaggelis Karafotis – Drums.